Our website uses cookies to function. You can read our Privacy Policy here, by continuing to use this site you agree with our Privacy Policy cookies close button


Civic Awards 2019

Last Modified May 14, 2019

The search is on for this year’s community champion to receive their moment of recognition at our Civic Awards.

The Mayor of Hertsmere, Councillor Brenda Batten, wants to hear about individuals or groups living or working in the community who give up their time to improve the lives and circumstances of others.

People nominated should have contributed to activities or initiatives which have shown a benefit to the local area and directly involved other community members or colleagues.  Nominees should have worked in a voluntary capacity or carried out work which is considered over and above their normal paid employment duties.

Categories for nominations are as follows:

  • THE DAVE RANKIN AWARD: Outstanding contribution to improving community safety across the borough
  • CIVIC AWARD: Work undertaken for the benefit of the residents of the borough
  • YOUTH CIVIC AWARD (UNDER 18): Work undertaken for the benefit of the residents of the borough


To make a nomination, please complete the attached form and return it to: Mayor’s Secretary, Hertsmere Borough Council, Civic Offices, Elstree Way, Borehamwood, Hertfordshire, WD6 1WA or mayors.secretary@hertsmere.gov.uk

The deadline for entries is Friday 1 February. Nominations will be considered by a panel.  All winners will be invited to attend a presentation evening at the Hertsmere Civic Dinner on 23 March 2019 at Elstree Studios.

Details of previous award winners are listed below.


Dr Raymond Coffer - Chair of Warren Estate Residents Association
Andrew Grady - Member of Borehamwood Brass for his contribution to the band over 20 years.
Ann Harrison - Governor of Hertswood Academy and Cranborne Primary School for her dedication to the schools and the wider Hertsmere community.
Vivien Hewitt - Guider of the 4th Bushey Guides.
Edith Oakley - Fundraiser for the Bloodwise charity
Lewis Osbourne - For 15 years’ service to the Citizens Advice Bureau
Frederick Thomas - Volunteer with Citizens Advice Hertsmere for 40 years.

Gary Shinn - Dave Rankin Award
Arnold Davey
Guy Beaton
Jane McMahon
Yogesh Morjaria
David Clout
Nick Male

Sasha Capocci
Michele Davis
Michael Duffy
Christopher Watts
Paul Welsh MBE
Bob Williams
Christopher Davess – The Dave Rankin Award
Yasmin Gill – Youth Civic Award

Dianne Payne
Christine Wright
Ann and Norman Shuker
Vivienne Charrett
Kristan Payne
Dr Phil Wadey
John Godfrey – The Dave Rankin Award
Reece Browne – Youth Civic Award

Gill Connell
Patrick Forsyth
Alan Lawrence, Ann Lawrence and David Armitage
Jim McKean
Sue Pearlman
Sixty Plus (Potters Bar & South Mimms)
Valerie Kane and Loran Kingston – The Dave Rankin Award
Stuart Nagler JP DL – 40th Anniversary Award

Marijke Turner; Julian Treves-Brown; Audrey Lambert; Reverend Richard Leslie; Amber Gill; Ken Moxley; Bill Davies; Tom Shirley; Lisa Hunter – The Dave Rankin Award


Elaine Marsh; John Brown; John Hambleton; Helen Hambleton; Susan Moser; Verity MacLachlan; Peter Weaver; Sue Weaver; Molly Brain; Richard Jarvis – The Dave Rankin Award

Cynthia Litherland; Mike Smith; Marion Gee; Maureen Price; Ron Price; Jean Austin; Graham Leclerc; Ross Paybody – The Dave Rankin Award

Angela Saunders; Jane Saunders; Doreen Scivyer; Margaret Sibley; Herts Inclusive Theatre; A to B Cycle Riders

Jan Southwell; Daniella Jacobson; Florence Ward; Hugh Lewis; Beryl Collins; Patty Briggs; Talya Jacobson

Radlett Cricket Club; Bushey Festival; 1st Elstree & Borehamwood Scouts; Baracuda Swimming Club; John Franklin; Joan Franklin

Len Denbigh; Carol Denbigh; Muriel Pitcher; Roy Brown; Eva Middleton

Nicky Brady; Marion Conway; Duncan Conway; Carol Jones; Jean Kentish

Sheila Blake; Chris Beney; Ann Goddard; Patrick Cass

Dennis Hussey; Jean Hussey; Alan Barth; Ronald Ladds; Pauline Poole; Henry Redman

John Spencer; Kathleen Spencer; Edward Harvey; David Newman; Terry Barnes; Bryen Wood; Grant Longman; Nicola Day

Welcome to Hertsmere Borough Council’s website.