Our website uses cookies to function. You can read our Privacy Policy here, by continuing to use this site you agree with our Privacy Policy cookies close button

Civic Awards 2020

Last Modified March 17, 2020

In view of the developing situation, together with current advice from Public Health and the government, we have taken the difficult decision to postpone the Mayor’s Civic Dinner until later in the year.




The search is on for this year’s community champion to receive their moment of recognition at our Civic Awards.

The Mayor of Hertsmere, Councillor Alan Plancey, wants to hear about individuals or groups living or working in the community who give up their time to improve the lives and circumstances of Hertsmere residents.

People nominated should have contributed to activities or initiatives which have shown a benefit to the local area and directly involved other community members or colleagues.  Nominees should have worked in a voluntary capacity or carried out work which is considered over and above their normal paid employment duties.

Categories for nominations are as follows:

  • CIVIC AWARD: Work undertaken for the benefit of the residents of the borough
  • THE DAVE RANKIN AWARD: Outstanding contribution to improving community safety across the borough
  • YOUTH CIVIC AWARD (UNDER 18): Work undertaken for the benefit of the residents of the borough


To make a nomination, please complete the attached form and return it to: Mayor’s Secretary, Hertsmere Borough Council, Civic Offices, Elstree Way, Borehamwood, Hertfordshire, WD6 1WA or mayors.secretary@hertsmere.gov.uk

The deadline for entries is Friday 31 January. Nominations will be considered by a panel.  All winners will be invited to attend a presentation evening at the Hertsmere Civic Dinner on 5 April 2020 at Elstree Studios.

Details of previous award winners are listed below.


Bunty Shah
John and Sheila Carlisle
Martine Eni
Lindsey Matthews
Stacey Murphy
Myra Roberts
Graham Taylor
Adam Duke - Youth Civic Award
Borehamwood Action Group - Dave Rankin Award



Dr Raymond Coffer 
Andrew Grady 
Ann Harrison
Vivien Hewitt
Edith Oakley
Lewis Osbourne
Frederick Thomas

Gary Shinn - The Dave Rankin Award
Arnold Davey
Guy Beaton
Jane McMahon
Yogesh Morjaria
David Clout
Nick Male

Sasha Capocci
Michele Davis
Michael Duffy
Christopher Watts
Paul Welsh MBE
Bob Williams
Christopher Davess – The Dave Rankin Award
Yasmin Gill – Youth Civic Award

Dianne Payne
Christine Wright
Ann and Norman Shuker
Vivienne Charrett
Kristan Payne
Dr Phil Wadey
John Godfrey – The Dave Rankin Award
Reece Browne – Youth Civic Award

Gill Connell
Patrick Forsyth
Alan Lawrence, Ann Lawrence and David Armitage
Jim McKean
Sue Pearlman
Sixty Plus (Potters Bar & South Mimms)
Valerie Kane and Loran Kingston – The Dave Rankin Award
Stuart Nagler JP DL – 40th Anniversary Award

Welcome to Hertsmere Borough Council’s website.