Parish or town councils are the most local level of government in England.

They are independent of district and county councils but maintain a close working relationship with both. The powers of parishes vary depending on how large and how active they are. Some meet infrequently (but at least four times a year, including one public meeting) and are responsible for very few matters. Other larger parishes undertake many duties such as managing cemeteries, allotments, commons, village halls, war memorials and markets etc.

In Hertsmere parish and town council services generally include local events and some activities for young/older people, Christmas lights, some allotments, cemeteries and parks, public clocks and war memorials. Contact the relevant council below to find out more.  

You can vote in your local parish / town council elections if you live in the area it covers and you will receive a polling card automatically if you are on the electoral register.

Aldenham Parish Council

Aldenham Parish Council covers Radlett, Aldenham and Letchmore Heath, and the community of Round Bush. It has 12 councillors, elected for four years.

Contact: Clerk to the Parish Council, Radlett Centre, 1 Aldenham Avenue, Radlett, Hertfordshire, WD7 8HL

Tel:  01923 856433



Aldenham Parish Councillors Register of Members' Interests

Elstree and Borehamwood Town Council

Elstree and Borehamwood Town Council  has 13 councillors, elected for four years. 

Contact:  Clerk to the Town Council, Fairway Hall, Brook Close, Borehamwood, Hertfordshire, WD6 5BT

Tel:  020 8207 1382



Elstree and Borehamwood Town Council Register of Members' Interests

Ridge Parish Council

Following Hertmere's Community Governance Review in 2022, Ridge Parish Council is no longer operational. If you have any questions or enquiries, please contact the Ward Councillors;

Contact details for Councillor Anthony Spencer

Contact details for Councillor Natalie Susman

Shenley Parish Council

Shenley Parish Council has nine councillors, elected every four years

Contact:  Clerk to the Parish Council, 'The Hub', London Road, Shenley, Hertfordshire, WD7 9BS



Shenley Parish Council Register of Members' Interests

South Mimms Parish Council

South Mimms Parish Council  has five councillors, elected for four years.



South Mimms Parish Council Register of Members' Interests


The following areas of Hertsmere have no parish or town council:

  •  Bushey
  •  Bushey Heath
  •  Potters Bar